Cheap, simple, windows recording program?

Started by rpg51, June 09, 2005, 10:54:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Can any one stear me to a simple cheap (free maybe??) recording program that runs well in Windows XT?  I tried n-Track.  Doesn't run well.  Freezes up all the time.  Runs very slow.   Buggy??? 

My machine has plenty of ram, a large hard disc and a fast processor.  Works well generally. 

I am using an M-Audio Mobilepre (usb) to get my signal into my computer.  It seems to run well.  As soon as I start n-Track - problems start up!!! 

I don't need lots of features.  Looking to keep it as simple as possible for now.  I am new at this recording thing- just learning.  A buggy program isn't helping the learning process one bit. 
Rob

Bourgeois Vintage OM
Larrivee D-05 MT

I have the same question and the same experience-would it be better to go with one of the small portable units for simplicity and send it into the computer through a USB cable and then burn to disc. Something like a Fostex or Tascam-not interested in multi-track or effects just straight acoustic recording.

Try Super mp3 Recorder from Admiresoft www.admiresoft.com

No connection with them other than a very satfisfied user.

John C.

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/ 
I haven't used it, but I've heard good things. ITs an actual multi-track recording program.

I would check Little Brothers article on home recording at his e- magazine web site.    acousticplayermagazine.com    He talks about several free and some inexpensive programs and covers a lot of other material as well. I consider it a must read for someone new to pc recording.

+1 for Audacity.

It's free and works very well.
Ron

Can I record two channels simultaneously with Audacity?
Will it produce a wav file?  Mp3?
Looks good otherwise -
thanks for the advice - I'll report back after I try it out.
Rob

Bourgeois Vintage OM
Larrivee D-05 MT

I use Audacity on my HP laptop with Windows XP. No problems.

Randy R., Georgia, USA