Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How Much Is Too Much And Pricing Thoughts  (Read 1414 times)
Atlanta_Mark

Ignore
« on: April 14, 2005, 03:36:40 PM »

Don't know if this has been noticed/discussed on the forum (I couldn't find it in a search)

http://www.buffalobrosguitars.com/images17...d100/index.html

They are asking $100k for it. I like inlay as much as anyone, but wonder if I am the only person who views this as a bit over the top? :huh:

On another note, something I have been meaning to discuss for a while is guitar pricing versus other instruments. I am primarily an amateur violist, and have two violas, a cello and a violin in addition to the guitars listed below (I also sing in two choirs). My best viola and the cello, if replaced currently, would probably cost in the $4-5k range. These would be considered "good student" instruments, or perhaps as a second instrument for a professional. A professional would be more apt to own something in the 5 figure range, with six figures not be out of the question for someone playing in a large professional orchestra.

Its always struck me as odd how you can buy a top quality guitar, basically the same ones used by the pros, for so much less than a top quality violin.

Mark T

1985 Alhambra Classical
2004 Larrivee LV-03RE
1990 Guild B30E
freeindeed

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2005, 04:59:24 PM »

Hey Mark,