Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: LV-03 for that Gypsy Jazz (Maccaferri)  (Read 272 times)
Casey86

Ignore
« on: February 22, 2018, 04:26:52 AM »

I was fortunate to play an awesome trio acoustic (no amps) concert today with two long time friends of mine. Don Ogilvie, an expert on gypsy style guitar and Gerry Green on clarinet. I have played with Gerry since 1974 and Don since 1972, I was 17 heh heh.

I should add when I play with these guys I'm on upright bass. I'm just a beginning guitarist  

Don plays a 1974 guitar made specifically for him by our friend Michael Dunn. Wood for the guitar was fetched out of the Fraser River. It is a copy of the Maccaferri D hole, without the sound chamber. Michael Dunn is a great luthier and Django style guitarist. We play together with Don in a band called Djangoesque. That tells you what the style is! Don ran a band in the '70s called 'Hot Club' long before gypsy jazz was trendy and cool.

Michael taught guitar making at the local college and many of his students went to work at Larrivee in Vancouver. Michael had his own shop and some of his apprentices went on to Larrivee too. When Larrivee left, some ex-employees opened up Legend guitars. He is mostly retired from guitar construction but plays a lot of gigs. He sometimes shows up with his guitar in the sidecar of his Russian motorcycle.

During the concert I was watching Don play and thinking about gypsy jazz guitars. I feel that a great guitarist will make any guitar sound like the style he is trying to hit. Perhaps the Maccaferri copy really adds to the look and feel of gypsy jazz. Michael often wears a beret and ascot tie when he plays Django style.