New Larrivee Owner ... had to grab two :)

Started by Casey86, January 17, 2018, 11:26:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi All

Just picked up a new d-04w and used but unplayed lv-03. Really happy!

After Christmas I decided a nice acoustic was in the future for my lefty wife Marcia. She does not play but I often find her listening and singing along to youtube vids of unplugged rock groups ('more than words' extreme etc).  Went into Long & McQuade to see what they have during the boxing week sale. Saw a nos 2013 Larrivee d-04w hanging with no price tag. The salesmen know me there (I'm a pro bassist with 45 years of gigs under my belt) and they said 'this is the only lefty acoustic in the store and for Casey we can give a special price'. Ha ha! The fact that it is nos from 2013 and a lefty meant I got a great deal on a perfect new guitar! She had been waiting outside in the car and I walked towards her in heavy rain with the guitar and a big grin. She thought I had bought yet another bass...

The d-04w was a special edition made in Calif for L&M Canada. Vine head stock inlay, Peruvian walnut sides and back. Gloss top, hand signed label and nice case.
Being a newbie I cant post pics but here is what it looks like:
https://www.long-mcquade.com/43944/Guitars/Acoustic/Larrivee/Dreadnought_Walnut_Acoustic_-_Gloss_Top_Vine_Headstock.htm

The dreadnought really sounds nice but being a lefty I cant get around it. I stumbled across a 2002 lv-03 at Rufus guitars online here in Vancouver that I could play. We went to look with cash in hand. It is in unplayed condition! Made in Vancouver. I made a reasonable offer, and away we went home with our second Larrivee. Two newbie guitarists with beautiful guitars to learn on!

Really happy with the build quality of the Larrivee's. Being a bassist I have 5 electric basses and 2 uprights, some of very high quality.
(Alembic fretless, handmade upright with highly flamed maple etc) The Larrivee's fit in nicely :)

Technical question: