Instrumentals?

Started by Skip Ellis, June 19, 2017, 02:36:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Are there any of you folks out there who perform solo acoustic   'instrumental only'? For those of us who don't sing and have no desire to start, are there places to play where people appreciate solo guitar? I play mostly Chet, Merle, Eddie Pennington, Doc Watson, etc. and some quiet fingerstyle things like Shenandoah, Foggy Dew, Danny Boy, and a few Celtic things. I've been a pro/semi pro player since about 1970 and I do work in an electric duo doing the old surf and instrumental tunes from the 60's - Ventures, Lonnie Mack, Duane Eddy and the like and we do get gigs (not as often as I like). It seems that that music brings back memories to some folks. I would like to occasionally go out and  play a solo gig once in awhile.  Not much in the way of open mics around here and most of what you find is electric blues, which, mostly, bores me after not very long. Any suggestions?

This is a tad outside the box, but look around and see if you have any theaters in town, theatrical as opposed to movies. I played a few times at a community theater in the lobby prior to their shows as well as onstage as pre-show music. Not much more than 20 minutes a set, nor can a community theater actually afford to pay you, but they will likely appreciate the heck out of having some nice non-vocal easy to set up music to entertain their patrons before the curtain goes up. It doesn't hurt to have a reason to go into the lobby during intermission to buy stuff if there's a musician playing. You'll probably score a comp and meet some nice folks. Another place you might look into would be art galleries.

Good luck, I can relate as my playing is significantly better than my voice.
Larrivee OO-05 • Larrivee OOV-03 SS • Larrivee OO-44  • Taylor 322ce • Strat • Soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/jpmist