Anyone build a uke?

Started by StringPicker6, August 24, 2022, 02:14:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

I saw an ad pop up on my computer from Stew Mac advertising some fun ukelele build kits. Has anyone here ever built a ukelele? It looks fun but I have zero tools or experience.  Is this too ambitious a goal for a complete novice?  Kits are around $90 and up, depending on size. 
Larrivee P-03
Epiphone USA Texan
2023  Larrivee L-09

Quote from: StringPicker6 on August 24, 2022, 02:14:57 PM
I saw an ad pop up on my computer from Stew Mac advertising some fun ukelele build kits. Has anyone here ever built a ukelele? It looks fun but I have zero tools or experience.  Is this too ambitious a goal for a complete novice?  Kits are around $90 and up, depending on size. 
Never did anything like that, but I went and looked at the kits and downloaded the instructions and read them.
You will need a few tools and clamps, but the neck is already cut for the frets.
I do not think it is too ambitious, you can write "Zen and the art of Uke kit building" during the process.
Mike
Larrivee OM-03, OM-03 laurel, OM-50, L-03 laurel, LSV-03 walnut (Forum VI)

With "zero tools", it'll be a challenge.  Or, you'll spend at least as much (or twice as much) on some tools as you do on the kit.  Doing the frets will be a real challenge.

If you do it like they say in their instructions, you have a good chance of ending up with a nice uke.

Ed

Quote from: eded on August 24, 2022, 02:44:13 PM
With "zero tools", it'll be a challenge.  Or, you'll spend at least as much (or twice as much) on some tools as you do on the kit.  Doing the frets will be a real challenge.
If you do it like they say in their instructions, you have a good chance of ending up with a nice uke.
Ed
I guess maybe it depends on if you want a uke, have you played any?
Mike
Larrivee OM-03, OM-03 laurel, OM-50, L-03 laurel, LSV-03 walnut (Forum VI)

Quote from: mike in lytle on August 24, 2022, 09:09:34 PM