Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Washburn guitars: opinions?  (Read 1388 times)
Autumnlady

Ignore
« on: November 28, 2014, 04:02:12 PM »

Hi there,

Can anyone tell me something about the quality of Washburn acoustic guitars?  A friend of mine wants to buy his teenage daughter a guitar, and Guitar Center is steering them toward a Washburn (not sure which model).  I have no experience with these so thought I'd ask here.  My friend's daughter is mostly a beginning player.

Thanks!
datdaddy

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2014, 04:40:50 PM »

No experience of the Washburns, but I have read many disappointing stories and complaints about their newer parlor entries.  Doesn't sound like quality stuff, from what I've read.  If she's starting out, perhaps one of those Alvarez AP70s might be the answer.  I think that's what I'd recommend right now to my friends looking for a student's guitar.  That or a Seagull. 

Larrivee LV-10 2013
Michael Gee classical 2003
Martin D12X1AE 12 string
Alvarez AP66
Gretsch 5420t Electromatic
ducktrapper
Donuts?

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2014, 08:26:23 PM »

I have a cheaper Washburn 12 string, I bought used for a couple hundred that's decent especially since I don't play much 12 string. The 6 string version was chosen as the best guitar buy of the year a while back. A buddy has a top of the line Washburn 6 string, don't know what model, but it's very nice. He bought it in Canada for around $1,000. That would be a $700-800 guitar in the US. The $300-400ish ones would definitely be alright, the more expensive ones put you in used Larrivée territory where I'd say you'd be better off. As with all cheaper guitars, they tend to vary quite a bit from one to another. You'd have to play a few if you can and find one you like. Personally, I'd look at Yamaha. Best inexpensive guitars around for many years. Hope this was some help.
L07 Shooting Star
Gold Member

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2014, 10:28:50 PM »