Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help with video set up  (Read 490 times)
dberch
Gold Member

Ignore
« on: December 01, 2012, 06:50:23 PM »

Hey, guys and gals.  Hope you and yours are doing well and enjoying the holiday season.

Got a question for you.  I'd like to get into doing videos for youtube (and my press kit!) and I'd like to pick the Larivée Forum collective brain.  I'm good for mics with a Shure SM81 and a Behringer B1, but know nothing of the video part. I'll need a camera, and the knowledge of how to sync up and optimize the result for youtube.

I have a mac with iMovie and will probably use that, unless something better ( and cheap) gets mentioned.  I've messed with iMovie once and that it was not very intuitive.  But I'm a complete novice at all this. How do you get the music that was recorded separately in with movie part?

I use n-Track recording software and have been very happy with it.

What video gear are you guys using?  Software? What would you recommend without breaking my bank?

Thanks a million!
David

So many songs - so little time...
Finger Picking good Folk, Blues, Gospel, Roots, Rags, and Originals
www.davidberchtold.com
jpmist

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2012, 03:00:16 AM »

I've done some guitar videos on Youtube where I show mostly my left hand. It's odd at first glance but from the comments I've gotten they seem to help beginners who can't figure the songs on their own.

The last one I did I simply used a web cam mounted to a boom mike standto show the fretboard and to jazz it up used the only video capable iPod Mini they made mounted to the body to see what my right hand was fingerpicking. You can see it here. The little flash memory card minicamcorders and USB web cams are great for this because they're wide angle lens that autofocus and some do HD. If you use a webcam, Quicktime will work well to record it.