vintage electric

Started by ron 57, April 26, 2012, 04:38:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

just looked at a very cool Larivee electric circa 1985 Looks like an Gibson Explorer!
Any idea of the model name specs etc? Im a newbie in BC Canada

:welcome:  Ron

A couple questions re the 80's Larrivee Electric:

how many pickups does it have :?

Is it a bolt-on neck  :?

Does it have a maple cap :?
:gotpics:

One thing for sure is the craftmanship and parts ( if all original) will be top shelf. Having said this, it is one of the most undervalued vintage electric guitars of existence  :wacko:
Larrivee Electrics - My Dream then and Now!!!!!<br /><br />Forum IV     00-03MT       #4      (Treasured)

The electric guitars underwent many changes over production period of early 80's to very early 90's.  There are two main  model s: bolt-on necks and neck-thru-bodies. Bolt-on neck guitars had model names beginning with "L" (for Larrivee) and neck-thru-body designs had names beginning with "R" ( of which I have yet to hear a rational reason why). Numbers were used to designate pickup configuration, as follows:

1 - Single humbucker in bridge position
   2 - Double humbuckers
   3 - Three single coils
   4 - Two single coils plus a humbucker in the bridge position

Thus, an LS-3 was a bolt on neck design with 3 single coil pickups. An RS-2 would be a neck-thru-body design with 2 humbuckers. Body designs were not copies, exactly, but they were certainly derivative. The "S" in LS-3 stood for "Strat" derived body (Larrivee Strat -style -3 pickup), while an LT-2 would have been a "Tele" derived body.

It should be noted the the current Larrivee Electric models do not follow this naming pattern in any way.

:gotdonuts:
Larrivee Electrics - My Dream then and Now!!!!!<br /><br />Forum IV     00-03MT       #4      (Treasured)

I will get pics and post them tomorrow!
Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi It is a R4 then!