Pick suggestions?

Started by WillRoland, July 27, 2011, 02:26:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Any suggestions for some good flatpicking picks?  I've been using white Claytons for several years, and am ready for a change, somthing along the lines of fuax tortise shell.  I know Clayton makes some, but I cannot find them thicker than .94 and I prefer a thickness of about 1mm.  I would also rather not plop down $35 for one Blue Chip, though I've heard great things.  Anyone use the PaPa's that Cherokee sells?  Any other suggestions?
This ain't quite heaven and it ain't quite hell
ain't no angels playin harps
ain't no devils with tails

Larrivee OO-03R
Martin D-18

I've been very happy with the Wegen TPs - 1.00 or 1.2 I think. I also keep a couple ultex nylon picks with me, and ( I have to admit it ) a couple of really cheap thins - brand seems unimportant -

I've been asking and wondering about the Blue Chips myself, and based on alot of input, I am convinced that I would really like to get one - maybe for my birthday, or Xmas -
Bunch of Larrivees - all good -
and a wife that still puts up with me, which is the best -

Alright, I broke down and bought a Blue Chip TAD 50.  i should have known that as soon as I started considering the purchase, it was going to happen.  It sounds great, and is very speedy.  I'm thinking of it as a guitar upgrade, rather than a 35 dollar pick.

Larrivee OO-03R
Martin D-18

Spending $35.00 should almost get you a lifetime supply of flat picks. Nature is attempting to tell you that you have too much time and money on your hands.  :beer

I have 3 Blue Chips. Unless something better comes along I'll never use anything else.

I use the TAD601R for mandolin and they make quite a significant improvement in tone and playing ease.

I use the XR50 for guitar.

There isn't as much of a difference on the guitar. 

Quote from: ducktrapper on August 03, 2011, 02:10:25 PM