Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What's your favorite "practice" amp?  (Read 5666 times)
Walkerman
Gold Member

Ignore
« on: June 01, 2010, 06:51:49 PM »

You know, those itty bitty ones.....are there any good ones available?
ducktrapper
Donuts?

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 07:06:45 PM »

How much do you want to spend? These interest me. 4 or 0.4 watts. Of course, you'll need a speaker(s).

http://www.mackamps.com/gem-head-combo/

I just ordered one of these. Good for just running right into the board. Carry it in your pocket. Works as a DI for your acoustic too!   

http://www.tech21nyc.com/products/sansamp/paradriverdi.html

ronmac
Gold Member

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2010, 07:31:03 PM »

Duck, you're gonna love the DI.

I am a huge fan of Tech 21 products, and have used their DIs, Sans Amp modeling racks and amps.

This one (60W 1x12) doesn't qualify as "itty-bitty", but it's not too large and has tons of tone (with lots of variety, from a soft purr to scratch your eyes out).

Ron

ducktrapper
Donuts?

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2010, 08:41:19 PM »

I can't wait to get it. I've been using a Boss GE-7 for a long while and wanted to try something different. I can't wait to try it with the RS-4 right into the PA. That sure would make for a light rig!   
Barefoot Rob
Donuts?

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2010, 08:44:02 PM »

Having played most of the 5 watt amps out there at some point or another and finding them very limited my I suggest to you something in a little Fender.Like a champ,a champ 12,which I have and is really a Riveria,Printon reverb,which I gig with.A peavey Classic 20 or 30 both of which I've owned and have used for gigs.All fairly small the Fenders not being loader then 12 watts and the Peavey's are a 15 watt and a 22 watt.Have fun in on you trip thru amp land.

A REPAIRPERSON,Still Unclrob
OM03PA
Favorite saying
 OB LA DE OB LA DA,LIFE GOES ON---BRA,It is what it is,You just gotta deal it,