Anyone have any experience with a Dean Markley ProMag PLus XM soundhole pickup?

Started by canoe65, June 04, 2010, 06:33:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

I have a Larrivée L-03, bought new in 2006, and I've never played it amplified before.  I've been playing in a Church folk choir since 2007 and I've been receiving comments that some (many ?) of the people can't hear my playing along with the voices of the choir and other instruments.  Actually, in my opinion and based on my playing ability, that just might be a good thing!!

However ... I finally took the plunge and bought a Dean Markley ProMag Plus XM model soundhole pickup.  I definitely didn't want to drill any holes and I didn't want 15 feet of instrument cable hanging out of the soundhole.  The XM model fits tightly into my L-03 soundhole, but the 'grips' are cushioned and leave no marks on the edge of the soundhole.  The XM has a short (about 18 inches) pre-wired cable that ends in a 1/4" jack housing that attaches to the end strap button. So far, this all makes me happy.

Putting everything bass-ackwards, now that I've gone and bought the thing, does any Forum member have anything good to say about a Dean Markley ProMag Plus XM pickup used in a Larrivée?    :?
:guitar

2006 Larrivée L-03
2006 Martin Backpacker

"The best things in life aren't things."

I'm curious about this too, but how does it sound to you? Do you like what you're hearing? ricky

Quote from: rpm60912 on June 05, 2010, 05:20:28 PM
I'm curious about this too, but how does it sound to you? Do you like what you're hearing? ricky

Ricky,

The verdict is still out on what I am hearing. I first played with the Dean Markley pickup plugged in yesterday at our Folk Choir Mass.

The speaker/amplifier that I am using at the church is facing away from me and the volume is turned down a bit, so as not to drown out the choir.  Also there is another guitar playing through the amp at the same time.