RS-2 fret buzz

Started by bigonpig, June 17, 2012, 08:38:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

I've got some buzzing coming from the 5th and 6th strings on my RS-2, starting around the 2nd or 3rd fret. I loosened the truss rod a bit then checked again--now the buzz has just moved down to the 6th fret. Do I keep loosening the truss rod or raise the bridge? Both? Neither? I haven't done these adjustments before so I'm not quite sure how to proceed  :?.
LS-03MT Island Edition
RS-2

Hi, I'm not really an expert on this subject but usually you want to check fret height with a straight edge, checking nut action and neck relief before you adjust the truss rod. I can't really say what is going on or what you should do other than possibly taking it to a good tech in your area especially if you haven't done this kind of work before. Here is a page that talks about how to set up a guitar and what you need to check but if you haven't done it before or are unsure about doing it yourself I would think about taking it to someone to have a complete setup done. You can even ask them if you can watch and see what adjustments they make.

http://tclutherie.hypermart.net/setup/

Thanks for the info Icedlatte. I didn't want to take it one but I think that I will have to. I appreciate the link.  :cheers
LS-03MT Island Edition
RS-2

Quote from: Icedlatte on June 17, 2012, 05:02:10 PM
I can't really say what is going on or what you should do other than possibly taking it to a good tech in your area especially if you haven't done this kind of work before. Here is a page that talks about how to set up a guitar and what you need to check but if you haven't done it before or are unsure about doing it yourself I would think about taking it to someone to have a complete setup done. You can even ask them if you can watch and see what adjustments they make.