Newbie question on strings for a DV-10E

Started by Kristos, January 27, 2010, 09:04:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi Everyone,

Another newbie here and my first post. 

I've been playing for years but my playing never really took off. Now I can find the time for some serious practice and I'm seeing improvements most days but still got a long way to go. I've left my Strat on the stand and I'm now spending most of my time on my DV-10E and I've realised that my hands aren't as strong as I thought so I'm looking at the action. The nut is OK and with the neck set properly the action is too high at the twelvth fret. Before I start shaving the saddle down can anyone tell me what strings would have been fitted from the factory and what material is the saddle made of ? It was made in 2001 and has the presentation inlay. I've got Light D'Addario EXP16's fitted and they sound good but a bit bright.
What strings suit the Larry's best.

Chris     :wave  :donut  :donut  :donut  :donut  :donut  :donut   
Playing guitar is just a bunch of tricks

DV-10E (2001 presentation inlay)
Martin 000-16SRGT
1998 Fender US Strat
Vintage V100 LP copy (Peter Green Lemon Drop)
Gibson ES-339
Gibson SG Bass

:welcome:         :nice guitar:     
Thank-you for the donuts. 

You will find many here who are long ago players finding more time for making music.

String preferences are very much different for each guitar and player.  No one string brand
or type is best.  It will be what you and your guitar like.  Try many different kinds as you
change strings.

For guitar adjustments and set up, here are some links that can help:

http://www.guitarrepairshop.com/indexmastersetup.html

http://www.frets.com/FRETSPages/pagelist.html     scroll down lots of informantion even at the bottom of the index.

http://www.bryankimsey.com/music/lutherie.htm

Have fun playing and use the Search function to find many many threads about string and such.

:wave        ds     :beer
L-03 BlackWood..... "Pluck"