Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Who were the artists that sparked your interest to play music  (Read 3384 times)
unclerufus

Ignore
« on: December 03, 2009, 04:20:49 PM »

Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum here and was just curious as to what artist or group of artists set you off on your musical journey. I was born in '66, but a lot of my musical heroes are very different from most folks my age. I grew up listening to Peter, Paul and Mary, Bud and Travis, The Everly Brothers, Jim Reaves, Patsy Cline, Eddy Arnold, Johnny Cash, John Denver, and three of my absolute favorites Marty Robbins, Jim Croce and James Taylor. Kind of a strange mix I know. I really got into the songs of Croce and Taylor about the time I was a freshman in HS. I think that's what drives my love of more acoustic-style music today. Things like Alison Krause and Union Station, Nickle Creek, Tommy Emmanuel. Just curious as what got everyone's metronome ticking.

tuffythepug
Global Moderator

« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 04:40:51 PM »

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

Well, I guess I have a few inspirations.   James Taylor, Neil Young and Leonard Cohen were the first to spark an interest in songwriting.   I needed to learn to play a bit in order to write a few tunes so I picked up the guitar.    In the subsequent years there were a few players such as Johnny Winter, John Hammond, Muddy Waters and Roy Rogers who inspired me to learn slide guitar technique.

Danny
Donuts?

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 05:00:29 PM »

The very first songs I every played were the bass runs to Fire by Hendrix and the rhythm chords to 25 or 6 to 4 by Chicago.
                   Da da da da dum, da da da da dum, dadada,dadada, da da da da dum 
  Still from knowing nothing to playing barre chords up and down the neck in a few minutes wasn't a bad step.