Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting a L03R,which pickup to get?  (Read 641 times)
Frederico

Ignore
« on: November 15, 2009, 02:30:48 PM »

Hello there,

This is my first post and I don't own a Larry yet, so don't flame me

I'm a beginner and using a low-end Epipphone which has laminated spruce top with maple back and side.  I consider it sounds thin and metallic.  The built-in electronics is so-and-so.

I stop by a guitar shop recently and immediately was impressed with Larrivee's with its beautiful tone, i.e. warm, full and woody, just like hearing music in heaven (didn't feel it when playing similar priced Taylor's).

After researching, I have L03R in my eye.  Now, my question....

Should I go for the "E" version with factory installed LR Baggs Element Notch (w/. side-mounted preamp) or get the non-"E" version and install a LB Baggs iMix (dual source) w/. no cut?  The later will cost $150 more the the factory "E" model (including installation by the dealer).

I know Larrivee uses the iMix for their higher end models and wonder if this is worth the extra over the Element Notch?  Any user comments?

Larrivee Forum IV
Martin OOO-28VS
Martin D-18GE Sunburst
Big E

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2009, 04:02:30 PM »

hmmm, great question. I`m curious to see the responses.
I also had a very inexpensive guitar as my first git. I learned on it for a year and then bought an LV-03RE-LH.
I`m happy with the pick-up it came with, but what do I know, being so new to it all.
Me and a few friends are playing small gigs and parties now and none of the more experienced band members have said anything negative about my git. I have had lots of compliments. I`ve plugged into a house P.A. and also my own amp. a Fender accoustasonic.

"If at 1st you don't succeed, sky-diving is NOT for you"
Mr_LV19E
Gold Member

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 04:38:24 PM »

welcome to the forum Frederico