Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Low volume in my new Larrivee OM-03  (Read 2473 times)
zurdillo

Ignore
« on: July 18, 2009, 07:33:31 AM »

Hello all,

From four months ago I have a new Larrivee OM-03, builded in 2007. I'm a amateur player with 30 years of experience mainly in classic guitar, now very interested in steel string fingerpicking guitar.

I have too a very good spanish made Alhambra dreadnought all solid cedar/ovangkol (W-2), and a cheap old Framus for the battle.

I'm happy with my new Larrivee, I like some aspects like the workmanship, the fret work, the selected woods, the design, the tone, etc. But I'm very dissapointed with the low volume that the guitar produce, really is a handicap when playing because is a beutiful but plain sound and in some music a powefull sound is needed here or there. Factory strings (Cleartone, I think) was changed for Ernie Ball and the thing improved a bit, and too a new real bone was fitted in the bridge.

Comparing with my Alhambra, there is not colour, the Alhambra has a powerfull and nice sound (I understand that is a dread) but the cheap Framus (not solid wood and parlor size body) too has twice the volume of the Larri. I know the great prestige of Larrivee and I don't know if is possible that one guitar between thousands can sound more "dead" or plane, perhaps this is my guitar.

I know that some players think that a good guitar like my OM-03 usually "open" the sound with the time (or with the playing or both) and this is my consult to this forum, I know that there are experts players here that can give me advice in this point. I'm waiting the guitar "open up" like we wait the rain in Andalusia. Is probably that my guitar improve in volume with time and/or playing or is better sell the guitar and go for other OM? When I adquire the Larri, the other posibility was a Martin 000-15 and now I'm doubting if think in this alternative.