Will I ever figure out how to strum?

Started by lyric_girl, July 17, 2009, 08:03:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ok folks, I am SO frustrated! I have a great teacher, but I just can't figure out how to strum properly. My huge issues are with the up strum and making an even sound/motion and not catching the wrong friggen strings. Of course, I am using a pick, so any advice would need to be relevant to that.

Many thanks folks.

Lynda
'09 Larrivee LS-03R #66 "Bella"
'07 Larrivee PV-09E "Holly"

When I started playing I use to mute the strings and strum along with songs.I also would play Am slide up to a Bm{leaving the High E open}trying to play different rythems.It just come's in time.Just keep pushing foward.If you can find someone to play with this will help.Play along with some of your favorite tune's.You can do this.
A REPAIRPERSON,Barefoot Rob gone to a better place
OM03PA.98 L10 Koa
Favorite saying
 OB LA DE OB LA DA,LIFE GOES ON---BRA,It is what it is,You just gotta deal it,
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity, Keith and Barefoot Rob on youtube
Still unclrob
12 people ignoring me,so cool
rpjguitarworks
Call PM me I may be able to help

It takes time and practice and worth through the frustration.  Just know that it's normal to have different aspects of your playing to personally struggle with and also know that you will overcome them.  Anytime I find one of these struggle points, I hit it head-on.  5 to 10 minutes of focused practice daily for a few days to a few weeks as needed.

If that doesn't work, try some whiskey while you practice.
:beer
bluesman67
HOGTOP CHARLOTTE

www.reverbnation.com/hogtopcharlotte