Practice amp - VOX or Roland

Started by mannish, February 26, 2009, 08:03:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

I am looking a picking up a practice amp from my local music store.  The owner of the store also gives me guitar lessons so I want to also provide her with some business.  She is trying to steer me towards VOX amps but she also handles Roland.  I have the impression that Roland makes higher quality amps than VOX, but I am a total newbie at the amp thing, so wanted some feedback.  So my first impulse was to go more for Roland than VOX.  She also has some Fender amps (the larger cabinet kind that are about 3 feet long)

In general which company makes better amps?  I was thinking of something in the 30-60 watt range, and maybe with a few effects built in.  Any feedback would be appreciated. 

Thanks.   
Webber Roundbody Rosewood/Englemann 2001
Martin OO-15c Custom  Mahogany/Sitka 2014

My recommendation goes to the Roland Cube series. The features are well thought out, they seem sturdier built ,and the built-in effects give you the advantages of Boss pedals. Good Luck. Tell us how it turns out!

:nana_guitar
Mark

Larrivee Parlor
'05Martin 000x
'91 Gibson Star
'93Gibson J-45
'08 Gibson SG Faded
"06 Fender Neck Thru Strat
68 Gibson ES-330

Are you talking for an acoustic guitar or electric? And are you sure you want feedback? :humour:
10-1614 more than a number, it's body and soul.

Thanks for the replies, this is for acoustic use only.  For my L-03 Bubinga with I Beam Active and my OM-03R with Fishman Matrix Infinity. 

And no I don't want "feedback" (very clever Flatlander) I was interested in responses, opinions.   :humour:

Last night I tried out the Roland AC-60 and it was extremely nice.  The $450 price tag I cannot afford right now though, unfortunately.  However, now that I have heard it, I don't know if I would want to settle for anything less.  So maybe I will just have to wait until I can afford it. 

Thanks in advance for any advice, comments.