Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Seagull bridge,bridge plate and top  (Read 2522 times)
Daysailer

Ignore
« Reply #20 on: February 24, 2009, 02:15:57 AM »

From the looks of the birdge plate, all the holes seem to be slightly damaged by the string balls.
I am no expert, but with those fingernail marks also, my bet is the plate is made from wood that is too soft.
If its that soft, I also wonder how much sound is being absorbed and lost instead of driving the top?

just my .02   ds

L-03 BlackWood..... "Pluck"
OM-03- MT Forum #14/17
F-III IS/Hog #63/78....SOLD
Seagull Artist Folk
Pono and Kanile'a Tenor Ukulele's
The real Day Sailer...1966 Day Sailer..the boat, not the person
Danny
Donuts?

Ignore
« Reply #21 on: February 24, 2009, 02:24:51 AM »

From the looks of the birdge plate, all the holes seem to be slightly damaged by the string balls.
I am no expert, but with those fingernail marks also, my bet is the plate is made from wood that is too soft.
If its that soft, I also wonder how much sound is being absorbed and lost instead of driving the top?

just my .02   ds
  Not bad for only 2 cents
Mr_LV19E
Gold Member

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: February 24, 2009, 02:50:22 AM »

Not bad for only 2 cents

Very economical. 

I'm going to try the oversized bridge pins or bridge pins without slots and slot them myself.
I found some new interesting info Here. Scroll down and check out the partially slotted bridge pin idea.

Roger

"Live simply so that others may simply live"
jeremy3220
Gold Member

Ignore
« Reply #23 on: February 24, 2009, 02:52:38 AM »