Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I've been playing my new OM-O3r for 2 months  (Read 787 times)
markhauer

Ignore
« on: February 01, 2009, 05:39:12 PM »

and I'm really loving the way it sounds. Could anyone give me some definite info on how upgrading nut and saddle to bone or hardened ivory will improve the sound or response? Any adventures in the upgrade department you care to share? Cost?
jeremy3220
Gold Member

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 05:57:15 PM »

Could anyone give me some definite info on how upgrading nut and saddle to bone or hardened ivory will improve the sound or response?

No they can't. I'm being serious, no matter how well anyone describes the sound it won't be the same as experiencing it yourself. With that said I think the bone saddle most notably adds to the sustain and fullness of the sound. I don't like to use the term bright especially in this application but the bone seems to add to the midrange(why it sounds fuller) and the Tusq seems to sound thinner especially on the unwound strings. I wouldn't replace the nut unless the slots were too low and it needed replacing anyway.

Also because the bone is harder it won't groove as bad from the strings.

tuffythepug
Global Moderator

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2009, 06:25:29 PM »

I agree pretty much with jeremy3220.    You will notice a marked increase in sustain and the tone will be different but it's hard, if not, impossible to describe.   I thought my OM-03R just "rang out" with a fuller sound with increased sustain and an almost organ like quality.  But I'm not good at describing these things.   This much I can say for sure:   I like it much better with the bone saddle.  I don't think a bone nut is going to make a lot of difference in the sound.  Installing a bone saddle is an really easy, in-expensive way to improve the tone of an already wonderful OM-03R.  Go for it.

Tuffythepug
AtlasHeating

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2009, 03:07:07 AM »