Musical influence

Started by johnmusic88, June 20, 2008, 02:28:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

As a musician, I have been greatly influenced by classic rock, especially the music of one of the greatest classic rock groups, Steve Miller Band. Their song, Fly like an Eagle is definitely one of the greatest classic rock hits. I was looking at their webstie the other day, www.stevemillerband.com, and found out that they have a new DVD out called Live from Chicago. I can't wait to go out and buy it! Does anyone else have it? Let me know what you guys think about it.

- john umgd

My greatest musical influences were AND are:

Bob Dylan
Cat Stevens
Neil Young
Bruce Cockburn
Gord Lightfoot

:thumbsup
:guitar

2006 Larrivée L-03
2006 Martin Backpacker

"The best things in life aren't things."

My greatest influences:

Beatles
CSN
CCR
Phil Keaggy
06' Larrivee LV-03E
89' Fender Strat Custom Shop
85' Zion Electric
Carvin all tube vintage amps
And a lot of other junk!

johnmusic88

Re: the Steve Miller in Chicago DVD....

I'm pretty sure this is the concert that was shown on PBS stations a week or two ago during one of their frequent pledge drives.  I caught most of it and it appears he is still King of the Understated Guitar Licks.  Nice Clean Strat Tones and technical perfection with a minimum of showmanship.   Worth a look if you're a Steve Miller fan (or even if you're not)

tuffythepug

Quote from: canoe65 on June 25, 2008, 12:30:13 PM
My greatest musical influences were AND are:

Bob Dylan
Cat Stevens
Neil Young
Bruce Cockburn
Gord Lightfoot

That's quite a strong list there, canoe.  I would only add to that:  CS & N.

jimmy

Quote from: jimmy buffett on June 27, 2008, 09:05:21 AM
That's quite a strong list there, canoe.  I would only add to that:  CS & N.

jimmy

Jimmy,

Agreed, but actually I make that CSN&Y.    :cheers
:guitar

2006 Larrivée L-03
2006 Martin Backpacker

"The best things in life aren't things."