Yamaha classical

Started by Denis, April 20, 2008, 04:31:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

I sold off most of my cds and dvds that have been collecting dust for years and decided I'd use part of the proceeds for something I thought I really wanted  Yesterday, I spent the better part of day looking for a 12 string.  Tried a few I liked but nothing that really did "it" for me.  I was at my 4th store of the day and found a Yamaha FG-720S-12 which was in my price range but again, didn't do "it" for me.  Then, for some reason, I started looking at classical guitars. 

I haven't owned a classical in years and years.  I've been playing guitar since 1980 when my parents got me my first guitar as an Xmas gift.  It was a cheap Dia II made in Taiwan classical and it's all I had for at least the first couple of years.  I tried a couple of Yamahas and finally bought the CG131S.  It's definitely not one of Yamaha's better classsicals but it does have a solid sitka top.  I got a free set of strings, Augustine Blue, which had been my strings years ago.  I had major flashbacks of my youth, wrapping the strings on the bridge, the feel of nylon strings, they take forever to stretch...just like old times.  Yamaha does have  superb line of classical guitars and this is probably one of the least expensive solid tops they make but I get the impression that this guitar will get a lot more attention than the 12 string would have.  I've owned several 12 strings over the past 27+ years and they score high desire-to-play scale for the first couple of months but then they get forgotten...at least this has been my experience.  A classical is all I had for those first couple of years that I played...it's going to be like getting back to basics.