Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tube vs: digital amplification  (Read 1376 times)
golfer

Ignore
« on: October 22, 2007, 09:58:38 PM »

I would like to buy a good amp for acoustical guitar and have been reading that tube amps sound better than digital.  Also have heard that they cost more but are worth the difference in sound quiality.
Can anyone share some insite on this and sugget tube amps to look at.  I have been looking at the Fishman Loudbox 130 and Cal. Blonde II, but neither are tube amps.
Also can anyone suggest how important effects such as reverb and chourus are to them when they play.
I am new to amplification of sound and could use your help.
                  Thanks much;
imwjl

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2007, 11:59:31 PM »

I would like to buy a good amp for acoustical guitar and have been reading that tube amps sound better than digital.  Also have heard that they cost more but are worth the difference in sound quiality.
Can anyone share some insite on this and sugget tube amps to look at.  I have been looking at the Fishman Loudbox 130 and Cal. Blonde II, but neither are tube amps.
Also can anyone suggest how important effects such as reverb and chourus are to them when they play.
                  Thanks much;

My understanding and experience is that C.W. generally applies to amps for electric guitars, and I have to say it's true after finally getting a tube amp. The acoustic amps I've checked out and tried have a pre-amp for guitars that do not, and they have a lot of adjustment with their pre-amps. This opposed to a classic electric guitar amp having a simple pre-amp and it over driving the amp gets the tone most people want. Put another way with one setup you're accurately trying to reproduce the tone made by the guitar itself and with the other the output from your simple magnetic pickups is driven to create the tone that equals an electric guitar.