Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Elixir alternative....help me pick  (Read 1581 times)
Blue in VT
Gold Member

Ignore
« on: December 12, 2006, 02:32:50 PM »

Howdy all....

I know string discussions get old...but I'm looking for Little help...I've been using Elixir Nano PBs on my OM-05mt for the last 6 months or so and I really like them...but as I am feeling poor at the moment I am looking for advice on something else to try (ie cheaper.. ).  I really like the "low profile" windings on the Nano's...really cuts down on the string noise...and of course I like the long life span...I've actually found that these last strings have gotten dirty and are starting to feel funny, as in slippery, and the tone hasn't died yet...its been 2 months.  Anyway...so can y'all recommend some non-coated strings that have smaller windings?  I've tried Dad Eh16 and John P PBS and love the tone but can't get over the string noise.
what do you think?

Also...does anyone do anything creative or useful with their old strings?  just curious.

Blue

OM-05MT "Mary Helen"
Silvercreek T-170
Harmony Herd (1203, 162, 165, 6362)
Gemnoc

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2006, 04:15:30 AM »

Have you tried D'Addario's EXP? They're coated, and sligthly cheaper than the Elixir... same winding as the EJ though.

2005 Larrivée LV-03RE
2003 Larrivée Rosewood Special Edition Parlor
1998 Fender American Std Stratocaster
1991 Vantage VS-5 (beater)
jeremy3220
Gold Member

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2006, 04:19:13 AM »

I've heard a few times that Elixers are coated D'Adarios. Don't know if that's true or not.

Gemnoc

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2006, 04:25:48 AM »

Another option, the DIY way...

1 - purchase a bunch of regular, cheap non-coated strings
2 - purchase a can of spray-on lacquer
3 - ...

OK I'll shut up now.

I personally don't care much for coated strings, but I understand you. The Elixir are really on the expensive side...