Clear vs Tortoise pickguard

Started by SteveD216, September 26, 2006, 02:34:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

I have a Larrivee D-10 with a clear pickguard. I am considering replacing it with a Larrivee custom beveled tortoise pickguard. I have read recently on some other acoustic guitar forums that people have removed tortoise pickguards to improve sound quality. Any opinions out there on this. Is it a mistake to replace the clear pickguard?

I am not sure that the addition or removal of a pickguard is going to make a huge difference in the tone of your guitar.  I am no great expert but it seems unlikely to me.  Anyway the rest of it is a matter of taste.  I personally don't really like the looks of the clear pickgurads...I removed the one that was on my parlor and think it looks a lot better.  I have left the Tortis one on my OM because I thinkit looks great...I'm a fingerpicker so I don't technically need one I just like the looks....I think Tortis on a Hog top looks fantastic.  I have been contemplating getting a tortis guard for my parlor to.....but haven't pulled the trigger yet....I just can't decide if I want to try to buff out the satin finish first or not.... :?

:cheers

Blue
OM-05MT "Mary Helen"
Silvercreek T-170
Harmony Herd (1203, 162, 165, 6362)

I've seen this discussed a great deal.  The general consensus from the people that I feel really know what they are talking about is that the pickguard will not make a change in tone that is detectable by our ears.  I'm can't imagine that you would notice any difference going from clear to tortis.  It boils down to which one you would like the look of.  It is safe to say that you could buy it, set it on your D-10 to see how it looks and if you didn't like it could easily sell it on the forum. 

I used to prefer the clear guards on all Larrivee's.  Now that I own 2 (a parlor and a OM-50) with the tortis guard and wouldn't have it any other way.  However, I still think the Ls look best with the clear.