Larrivee Guitar Forum

Main Forums => Recording, Pickups, Live Sound, etc. => Topic started by: mrrinse on July 09, 2006, 02:41:55 PM



Title: A2.2 won't output in mono via stereo plug on either channel
Post by: mrrinse on July 09, 2006, 02:41:55 PM
Hi,
I use a L-05MT with an I-Beam active and a Fishman humbucker wired in stereo. However, my LV-09 with B-Band A2.2 won't output anything on either channel using a stereo lead I use with the L-05 - whilst you would think it would output the mono signal on the left channel of the stereo cable. Any ideas why this is? As it stands, I also have to change leads every time I switch guitar on stage, which is a tad frustrating.
Thanks,
Dan


Title: Re: A2.2 won't output in mono via stereo plug on either channel
Post by: Randy_R on July 09, 2006, 03:20:52 PM
The unused circuit (side) may put a load/drain of some kind on the A2.2 that prevents it from working, even on the other side where one expects it to put an active mono signal. Just a guess from seeing such things before. I expect an email to bband support would clarify whether its possible to use a stereo plug at all, and how.


Title: Re: A2.2 won't output in mono via stereo plug on either channel
Post by: ronmac on July 09, 2006, 03:28:35 PM
Quote
The A2.2 is a two input / single output onboard preamp with XOM
and is designed specifically for use with UST and AST only.

You should only use a mono cable for this PU system. Since it is only outputing a mono signal, the tip will be "hot" and the shield will be "ground". If the jack inside your guitar is making the "ground" connection on the region where the "ring" connector of the TRS (Stereo Tip/Ring/Sleeve) cable, and the input of your amp is looking for the ground connection on the "sleeve", you will have no signal flow.

Does it work properly with a mono cable?


Title: Re: A2.2 won't output in mono via stereo plug on either channel
Post by: mrrinse on July 09, 2006, 03:39:26 PM
ok, thanks. that makes sense.
does work fine with a mono cable.
so i'm wondering now whether a stereo output on the A2.2 would be a better option, i guess by downgrading the output stage to the a2. however, in an ideal world it'd be sweet to keep the blended output on mono (L) and have either the UST or AST (at a constant, fixed volume) on the other (R). I guess I need to speak to the B-Band people...

Dan


Title: Re: A2.2 won't output in mono via stereo plug on either channel
Post by: sdelsolray on July 09, 2006, 04:07:33 PM
I thought the A2.2 was only a mono out system - no stereo output.


Title: Re: A2.2 won't output in mono via stereo plug on either channel
Post by: ronmac on July 09, 2006, 07:23:16 PM
It is mono only, but he is considering changing the output section.