Bone Bridge Pins

Started by bignote, June 08, 2017, 03:18:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi all,
  As you know, a few months back I picked up a like new OM-5.  However, the first owner had installed wooden bridge pins.  I have never really believed all the talk about pins making a difference but I took a chance.  I order some bone pins from Bob Colossi.  OH MY GOD!  Night and day difference.  much more volume and balls.  Can I say balls?  I am not really good at describing the nuance of tone but they really are a vast improvement over the wooden pins to my ears.  If you don't have bone pins, give em' a try.  You never know.  I am now a believer.
It only hurts when your not in tune!

Ebony bridge pins made my Larrivée Parlor sound as dull as ditchwater - in fact I might as well have been playing it underwater. I was shocked at the time. As soon as I put back the stock plastic pins, all was well again. I have since changed them for Tusq pins (posh plastic really) and think there is a slight improvement - very subtle, but I'm convinced I can hear it.
Larrivée Limited Edition Rosewood Parlor (2003)
plus various other acoustic guitars and one ukulele

Not unlike the "best strings" debate, the entire concept of what materials actually change the sound of a guitar before the strings cross the saddle, or after they cross the top nut is always an enjoyable;e discussion.

some folks ( me included) might suggest ebony tuner pegs (replacing the steel ones) make a difference,
many suggest bone, ivory or other bridge pins also change the sound.

any folks out there with scientific information around what actually happened ( if anything) pre saddle, post top nut vibrations?

I "thought" swapping steel tuner buttons for ebony changed the sound.
but did it?
dunno, they look nice but.......

any real proof from anyone one, most appreciated.

also, "tone-rite" ( I have one)
some say "bollucks", others say "you bet it makes a difference"