New Guy with New OM-40QM

Started by ChicagoDevin, April 10, 2015, 08:55:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

:donut :donut2 :donut :coffee :donut2http://www.break.com/article/weirdest-donut-tattoo-collection-you-will-ever-see-2657247

Hello.   Today I purchased my first Larrivee, and I decided I should say hello!
(My apologies if I am posting this in an inappropriate location).

So, about the guitar...   I picked up a new OM-40 with a quilted mahogany back.  It is a stunner, and I immediately fell in love with it.  I also played a OM03RW, a cool martin 000,  and some sort of nice Eastwood OM.  Both sounded very nice, but I knew the OM40 was coming home with me after a few minutes of picking it off the wall.  The low end response is very nice, and to me the guitar has a great full sound.  It also resonates like crazy.  I feel like the OM40 is the best sounding and best looking guitar Ive tried in the price range.

I am very new to the high-end acoustic game, as the nicest acoustic I have ever owned was a 100$ composite yamaha.  But I have a few nice electrics, a few nice amps, and more than a few boutique effect pedals.  I could list my gear cache if anyone cares.

I picked up the guitar from Dave's Woodstock guitars in Woodstock, Illinois.  I live in Chicago, so it was about an hour and a half drive each way.  I was a little apprehensive about the commute, but I had an absolutely awesome time.   Dave is a very cool guy, and it was nice hanging out and talking with him.  Hes got a cool shop with cool gear, and a lot of it from brands that are hard to find in the city.  I feel like I got a good price, and I plan on hitting him up again in the future.   Has anyone here ever been to his shop or bought from him?  Just curious.

In other news, Woodstock, Il is where the film "Groundhogs day" was filmed.  I know, I know.  Incredible stuff.

OM-40MQ
G&L ASAT Classic (USA)
Fender Jazzmaster Special (USA)
Gibson SG Special (USA)
Orange Rocker 30 and Roland JazzChorus 120