Newbie here: New to Larrivee, Body wood help please

Started by Pathfinder, February 28, 2018, 08:19:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi,
Been playing forever it seems but never had a great acosustic. Lots of Strats, etc. An old Takamine was it since 90 to today. So I am trying to decide between the mahogany D-40 and the D-40R. I do not have access to the Rosewood, it would have to be ordered. I like the Mahogony, but of course I cannot compare it to the other. From what I could find online, I understand Rosewood more bass, less mids and clarity maybe?
The $$ different is pretty big in this store because the D-40 they have is 2017, so they would do a great deal. To order the D-40RE with an Anthem pup they want $XXXX out the door.

Any help you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated. Acoustics and wood are not my strong suits. YET!  

Thanks very much. I look forward to reading a zillion posts here about Larrivees and acoustics in general
Pathfinder

I would recommend Mahogany if you like clarity and sparkle in the high frequencies.  EI Rosewood is mellow up top with more "warmth" and complexity in the midrange and bass.  I really like what Larrivee does with Mahogany and recommend it.  People tend to think of rosewood as more desirable because it's more expensive and rare, but I've never been wild about the Indian variety you commonly see in guitars.  Really depends on the instrument, the player, and the application though.  Both can sound lovely.
D-09 Brazilian w/ Eagle inlay. D-02-12
Used to own and love; SD-50, J70 maple Mermaid, SD60sbt, D03R, LV03E.

Welcome to the forum.  But be advised that I have modified your post to make it comply with rule #3 of our Forum Rules.   :wink: