I played a Guild today...

Started by immelman, March 14, 2008, 09:33:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

...a GADJF 30 and I really liked it. Great sound, great action, great price. It would save me a lot of money toward a new classical guitar too. I really like the L model Larrivees, but this actually felt better to me all the way around. But you know how it is when you take it home and spend a lot of time with it... you maybe start to discover reasons why you shouldn't have bought it.   I'm not a professional (ha ha, far from it). If I were, I'd buy a guitar for every style.  Whatever I buy, I'd like it to be versitile enough to handle fingerstyle (ragtime, blues, slack key), bluegrass, and whatever else I get turned on to.  I have a really nice Taylor NS72bc --nylon string, Brazilian rosewood, limited edition -- that I need to sell. Great guitar, but limited to certain things. I figure if I replace it with a nice steel string and a quality classical guitar, I'm covered.

So, what are your thoughts on the Guild?

There's nothing wrong with having both in my opinion.   I had my GAD JF-30 prior to getting my
OM-03R and L-10.   I still think the Guild is a great looking and  great sounding guitar for the money.  I admit that, since acquiring the Larrivees, I don't play it as often.  But I do play it when I want that big booming sound of a jumbo.  The flamed maple on the back/sides is some of the best I've seen on a guitar of any price.  Even after paying a luthier to convert mine from righty to lefty it was a bargain. I don't think you'd be dis-satisfied with it soon.   You may, however, want something a little smaller to go along with it at some point.   The Chinese made GAD Guilds sound pretty darned good to me.

[attachment no longer available]