Zoom H2 initial settings

Started by dmcginnis, January 12, 2010, 06:36:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Howdy - I just got a Zoom H2 and our group will be playing at a local pub wednesday night - any suggestions on what I should set for initial recording settings for the best possible recording?  We generally sit around a table so I will plan to use the surround sound option.

Thanks for your suggestions...I will need some time to get to know the unit and I have no experience with recordings.

Cheers,
Dave
2001 McIlroy A30 #75, Spruce/Rosewood
Martin OM-15M, all mahogany
Paddy Burgin Bouzouki, Redwood over Claro Walnut
Keith Newell mandolin, Spruce over Claro Walnut
1916 Gibson A mandolin
1927 Langestyle tenor banjo

It's really easy, so you should be good to go.  The only real settings you might want to think about for your first recording are the mic sensitivity switch (low/medium/high) and whether to record in MP3 or WAV format

The sensitivity setting determines whether you're either overloading the mic (on too high a setting; occasional clipping) or not getting enough volume (too low a setting; noisy sound).  To test this out, press the red Record button once, the light will flash (not recording yet).  Have everybody play as loud as they're gonna, and you can read the meters to see the level.  (you have to press the button a second time to actually record, or Menu to cancel out)

In a pub, start with medium or low sensitivity and adjust from there; aim for less than 0Db peaks but not too low (lower is better than overload).  You can also fine-tune the gain with menu settings but this is enough to start

As for the recording format, WAV is cd-quality (and takes up a relatively large amount of space).  For a pub recording, MP3 format is probably just fine though

Let us know how it goes!  I love my H2 but haven't used the surround feature (front + back mics) since I'm just recording me+guitar from the front