Walnut/Cedar

Started by JohnM2001, March 13, 2009, 03:39:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Saw this walnut/cedar Lowden on ebay, no afiliation.  Looks yummy, no?  Wonder if it's claro or black walnut?  It's gotta sound great  :guitar

D-02E

Very nice. It looks like curly claro to me.
Ron

I'd say the same - very, very pretty -
Bunch of Larrivees - all good -
and a wife that still puts up with me, which is the best -

Shoot I tell you what man talkin' bout some good lookin' dang ol' wood man.  Yo.

I'll go ahead and call that Claro too.  Black Walnut, if I remember correctly, tends (ironically) to be a bit lighter in color.

I LOVE Lowden's multi-piece necks. They just look awesome.
"The barrier to knowledge is the belief that you have it"

2006 Larrivee LV-10 MR   1980 Les Paul Custom Natural   2008 Larrivee LV-03-12   1998 Carvin LB75 Koa Bass

I'm just a newbie, but it sort of reminds me of Koa. :nice guitar:
Larrivée JCL-40

Lowden use Claro Walnut.  George has a supplier who provides some of the most amazing stuff you'll see in the world.  Before I ordered my first Larry, I ordered a Claro Walnut/Adirondack O35 Lowden.  It was to be my 30th b'day present from my wife.  Unfortunately a broken boiler meant the order had to be cancelled, but I ended up here a year and a half later instead, with 2 Larry's, so I am not unhappy.  The guitar I ordered, however, was built and went to the dealer through whom I ordered it.  It was beautiful.  Having discovered the benefits of smaller guitars now, I am happy I didn't get it.   It's all a learning experience.  I do have the intention of getting an S35 in Walnut/Adirondack as soon as that Lotto win comes in, though.
Ben
2009 FIII LS-03RHB #5

http://www.youtube.com/user/1978BenF

Lowdens are real nice, I agree, a lot of attention and careful wood choices goes into their necks and they are beautiful.
bluesman67
HOGTOP CHARLOTTE

www.reverbnation.com/hogtopcharlotte

Quote from: BenF on April 08, 2009, 04:05:18 AM