touch up on a larrivee sound board

Started by johnjago, December 09, 2023, 06:53:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi, I'm new to this so here goes. I am an amateur guitar builder/luthier. I am repairing a Larrivee guitar for a friend. The top had a separation on the sound board between the end block and the bridge plate. I glued a cleat inside the body to the sound board at the halfway point of the separation. In the process the joint didn't perfectly line up and I have one side that is slightly higher than the other. It looks fine but you can feel it when you run your hand over it. I would like to carefully scrape the high spot and touch up that up. It has a satin finish and I think it may be a poly finish. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Johnjago

:donut  :donut  :donut  :donut2  :donut2  :donut2  :coffee

Welcome to the Larrivée forum, A quick call or e-mail to Larrivée would likely be your best bet as they could better handle your questions regarding finish for that specific guitar.

A quick read of the forum rules would be a good idea as well. :wink:
Herman.

L-10, L-03FM, OM-05
 Forum VI, & "others"

It's really hard to repair these satin finishes. I've done it with CA glue and fine grade wet/dry paper but you can always expect them to be visible to some extent. I'm not aware of anything that easily recreates that same texture.

As far as finish types go, there's a sticky thread here on the forum listing then.
D-09 Brazilian w/ Eagle inlay. D-02-12
Used to own and love; SD-50, J70 maple Mermaid, SD60sbt, D03R, LV03E.

I would re open the crack and reglue,but I'm and old style guitar repairperson,

keep smilin and keep dancin   :nanadance
A REPAIRPERSON,Barefoot Rob gone to a better place
OM03PA.98 L10 Koa
Favorite saying
 OB LA DE OB LA DA,LIFE GOES ON---BRA,It is what it is,You just gotta deal it,
One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity, Keith and Barefoot Rob on youtube
Still unclrob
12 people ignoring me,so cool
rpjguitarworks