I can't seem to get my Larrivee to tune properly

Started by timsmall, March 16, 2014, 01:13:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi everyone

I've been playing guitar for 20 years and owned many guitars over that time.

I always wanted a Larrivee, so bought a D-03WL from Wildwood Music in Ohio in June 2013.

I brought it home with me to South Africa and have been playing it for the last couple of months. I noticed that it was hard to get it to tune properly. For example, I would tune it normally and then put a capo on say fret 3 or 4, and some of the strings would be out. I thought maybe a setup was in order, so I got the official Larrivee truss wrench and had a setup done by a professional here. Even though the actual sound of the guitar and the playability is great, I am convinced something is  wrong with the tuning.

I have to tune the strings again for when I put a capo on. I'm using a Shubb capo, but even when I have tuned it, it doesn't sound 100%.

I did a test now and tuned it in standard tuning and played some basic chords like G, and I noticed that when I press down on the individual strings, they are actually sharp.

I even did a cover on YouTube with the guitar and someone posted saying "Sounds great, but tune the guitar!"

I've never had a problem like this before with my other guitars so I am completely dumbfounded. I just never expected to have a problem like this with a high end guitar.

If anyone can offer any advice I would really appreciate it.

Thanks.

Tim
Larrivee D-03WL (Peruvian walnut back and sides / Italian alpine spruce top)

Not that  unusual to need to tune when using a capo. First and foremost, even though you've played for 20 years, are you using the capo correctly? Anyway, it's possible the setup wasn't done properly even though done by a "professional". Everyone's makes mistakes. Hard to say at a distance. Your tech should be the guy to answer your question(s).