White spots on Peruvian Walnut (D-03WL)

Started by timsmall, July 24, 2013, 02:08:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi everyone

I recently bought my first Larrivee guitar, a D03-WL with Peruvian walnut back/sides and Italian alpine spruce top.

I bought the guitar in Ohio, USA and have brought it back with me to Cape Town, South Africa. It was summer in Ohio when I bought it 3 weeks ago and it is winter here now. I live near the ocean, so I decided to take the guitar to work with me to store it away from the ocean air.

As I am new to owning a high-end acoustic guitar, I am trying to learn about how to take care of the wood. I was concerned about the effect of the ocean air on my guitar, so my friend said I should put some silica gel packs in the guitar case. So I did this at work where I store the guitar, but the next day I noticed some white spots/dots on the Peruvian walnut back and sides.

Does anyone know if this is related to the silica gel packs? Has the silica gel packs drawn too much moisture out of the walnut? Should I have not put these in my case? Is there anything I can do to remove the spots?

Any help on this matter would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Tim
Larrivee D-03WL (Peruvian walnut back and sides / Italian alpine spruce top)

I live near a beach, and have never had a problem with any of my guitars. What are you worried about?
Larrivee:
P09
OM03
OMO3R
OMO5
LO2
LO3R
LO3W
LO3K

Take a few good pictures of the spots so we can see what you are refering to. I highly doubt it has anything to do with the silica packs.

Silca packs don't sound like a good idea to me.
10-1614 more than a number, it's body and soul.