The Classical Guitar.

Started by Silence Dogood, August 03, 2023, 09:34:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

I've been playing acoustic guitar for exactly 30 years, always on a steel string. I've never paid much attn to nylon strings in all that time, but of late I've become quite taken in by it all. I don't even recall with drew me in.

I've recently watched several classical guitar maker documentaries, lots of great guitar demos on YT, and find myself learning about the various makers and players, etc. It seems to be an even richer world than the steel string. 

I know I'll eventually buy a classical guitar but I'm not ready yet.  For now it's just fun learning about it all. 

Who else here loves the classical guitar?

Me too. Steel string player since 1968.

Willie Nelson sure knows how to get a signature sound out of a nylon string guitar. I am thinking about a Godin myself but for the moment, I am playing my nylon string Kala Baritone Ukulele. I bought mine for $100 (or $109) and it was much cheaper than a tenor guitar. Sounds good for what I paid for it. I added a hard shell case for $39.

Don't know much about classical guitar music. I've always liked The Guitar Trio.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFlDf7Ck-N4&t=1919s

Or with Larry Coryell.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIPLwoiL71o

Quote from: ducktrapper on August 03, 2023, 02:14:46 PMDon't know much about classical guitar music. I've always liked The Guitar Trio.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFlDf7Ck-N4&t=1919s

Or with Larry Coryell.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIPLwoiL71o

Paco's right hand puts those other two guys to shame. And he seems to have more to say also. Paco's guitar has more of the traditional sound compared to whatever the other two guys are using. I don't think he is plugged in, just miked. Too bad they spend showing Paco's face instead of that right hand technique.