Live Music As Background Noise.

Started by Silence Dogood, December 10, 2023, 09:06:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

One of my sons works in a fancy restaurant in a hipster part of town.  Last night the wife and I were out and about and decided to drop into his place for a drink. 

There was a dude set up in the corner with a fancy hollowbody guitar, nice tube amp, and all sorts of audio equipment to play tracks while he jazzed it up live on his guitar. 

He played very well, and all tasty arrangements of various Xmas songs.  I think I was the only person in the room even remotely paying attention to him.  His tip bucket had the same lonely $20 bill in it when I was leaving as it had when I arrived.  I made a modest donation, mainly because I felt sorry for the guy.  I thought of all the work he must've put into his craft, only to become background noise.  Just seems like kind of a waste!

Some of the people I know that play for a living view venues as paid practice. When I occasionally filled in for them, I used this attitude also. It's great for calming the nerves LOL. Years ago, when my wife and I lived in Milwaukee, we would go and listen to a couple of guitarists who were established in the Milwaukee area. I never saw a tip hat where they played. I think because of who they were; they probably had a financial agreement with the venue. These were restaurant settings, and while only a few were intently listening, I think the people generally liked having live music. I was always amazed at these jazz players. Whenever they got a request, they always knew the tune and were able to put a version of it together.

Think of it this way, maybe-
Now if you're going to a concert, we're there to hear, but more importantly to listen to the music.
But going to a restaurant is a different thing altogether.
Maybe we go for a drink or the food, or more often to meet friends or family or maybe a date. It's a social engagement.